Camp Victory, Coil Take On Amazombie In Santa Anita Sprint Championship

Racing News
Posted 10.03.12 at 2:22

Camp Victory wins the Triple Bend Handicap. © Benoit Photo

INGLEWOOD, Calif. (October 3, 2012)—Camp Victory, the upset winner of the Grade I Triple Bend Handicap in July at Betfair Hollywood Park, and 2011 Affirmed Handicap winner Coil are among seven scheduled to run in the $250,000 Santa Anita Sprint Championship Saturday.

A Grade I for older horses at six furlongs, the Santa Anita Sprint Championship is the eighth of 10 races. Scheduled post time is 4:38 p.m. PDT. Track gates at Betfair Hollywood Park will open at 10:15 a.m. for simulcasts.

Owned by a partnership and trained by Mike Mitchell, Camp Victory won the Triple Bend by 3 ¼ lengths at 10-1, defeating a field that included the now-retired The Factor. Claimed for $40,000 by his current connections Feb. 13, 2011, the 5-year-old Forest Camp gelding has won three times in 11 subsequent races. Out of the Clever Trick mare Victory Trick, Camp Victory has eight wins in 24 lifetime outings and earnings of $547,986.

Trained by Hall of Famer Bob Baffert for owners Mike Pegram, Karl Watson and Paul Weitman, Coil has won two of six since taking the Affirmed by one length as the 9-10 favorite. One of those victories came in the Grade I Haskell Invitational July 31, 2011 at Monmouth Park.

A 4-year-old son of Point Given and the Theatrical mare Eversmile, Coil has won five of 10 and earned $879,360. He won the Affirmed in blinkers and will add them Saturday after a five race absence.

The likely favorite in the Santa Anita Sprint Championship is defending Breeders’ Cup Sprint champ Amazombie, who won the 2011 Tiznow Stakes at Betfair Hollywood Park.

The Saturday program at Santa Anita includes three other stakes – the $150,000 Arroyo Seco Mile for older horses on turf, the $100,000 Tim Conway for 2-year-olds at six furlongs and the $70,000 Swingtime for older fillies and mares at one mile on turf. The Arroyo Seco goes as the third race while the Conway is the fourth and the Swingtime the ninth.

From inside out, the field for the Santa Anita Sprint Championship: Castletown, Edwin Maldonado rides, 119 pounds; Amazombie, Mike Smith, 124; Coil, Martin Garcia, 119; Camp Victory, Joe Talamo, 124; Capital Account, David Flores, 119; Jimmy Creed, Garrett Gomez, 118 and Reneesgotzip, Corey Nakatani, 115.


May 2014

Media Guide

2013 Spring/Summer Media Guide
2013 Autumn Stakes Supplement

    Category Archives